2012 Best of the Web winners

The winning sites in the 2012 Best of the Web competition were presented at the AEJMC annual convention in Chicago. The annual competition is co-sponsored by the Visual Communication and the Communication Technology divisions. Awards went to the following entries:

Team Journalism
First place: El Nuevo Normal
Seth Gitner, Syracuse

Second place: Changing America
Ken Harper, Syracuse

Third Place: Boruca: Behind the Mask
Amanda Sturgill, Elon

Honorable Mention: Together Liberia
Ken Harper, Syracuse

Individual Innovation
First Place: Overtown: Inside/Out
Charles “Stretch” Ledford, Illinois/Miami

Second Place: On the Web
Xtine Burrough, California State Fullerton

Third Place: What’s on Your Plate at the Dining Hall?
Kelley Wollman, North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Team Innovation
First Place: The Struggle for a Neighborhood
Sarah Riazati, North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Second Place: We the People: Bringing the Census to Life in Arizona
Leslie-Jean Thornton, Arizona State

Third Place: Interactive Basketball Scoreboard
Kelley Wollman, North Carolina at Chapel Hill

A new look for VisCom

If you’re a returning visitor to the Visual Communication division website, you may notice a new look. The previous site has migrated onto a new WordPress-based platform. The new format will provide more flexibility in updating the look of the site and greater compatibility with mobile devices. It will also provide greater interaction for the division members by providing space to comment on items and tools to receive notifications of new content.

You will have to update your bookmarks though. If you have a previous bookmark to the Visual Communication division site, please update it to http://aejmc.net/vis/. You’ll have to update any bookmarks to internal pages too.

And let us know if there’s something you’d like to see added to the site.

2012 Division Meeting

As you plan your schedules for the AEJMC convention in Chicago, don’t forget the Visual Communication Division member’s meeting. This year’s meeting is from 7 – 8:30 p.m. Saturday in the Chicago F room on the 5th floor of the Marriott. A complete list of Visual Communication Division sessions can be found on p. 5 of the Summer 2012 Viewpoints.

2011-2012 Officers

Division Head
Jeremy Gilbert
Assistant Professor
Northwestern University, Medill School of Journalism
1870 Campus Dr., McCormick Tribune Center 4-125
Evanston, IL 60208
Phone: 847.467.0874
Fax: 847.491.2370
Email: jgilbert@northwestern.edu

Vice-Head & Program Chair
Bruce Thorson
Associate Professor
College of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
234 Anderson Hall/PO Box 880474
LIncoln, NE 68588
Phone: 402.472.8279
Fax: 402.472.8597

2nd Vice-Head
Byung S. Lee
Associate Professor
School of Communications
Elon University
216-C McEwen Communications/2850 Campus Box
Elon, NC 27244
Phone: 336.278.5675
Fax: 336.278.5734

Research Chair
Robert Peaslee
Assistant Professor
College of Mass Communications
Texas Tech University
Box 43082
Lubbock, TX 79409
Phone: 806.742.6500, Ext. 283
Fax: 806.742.1085
Email: robert.peaslee@ttu.edu

PF&R Chair
Denise McGill
Assistant Professor
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of South Carolina
Coliseum 4005E
Columbia, SC 29208
Phone: 803.777.8707
Fax: 803.777.4103
Email: mcgilld@mailbox.sc.edu

Teaching Chair
Mary Bock
College of Visual and Performing Arts
Kutztown University
Rickenback Learning Center
PO Box 730
Kutztown, PA 19530
Phone: 484.646.4319
Fax: 484.646.4180
Email: bock@kutztown.edu

Best of the Web Chair
Kim Komenich
Assistant Professor
School of Journalism & Mass Communications
San Jose State University
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0026
Phone: 408.924.3268
Fax: 408.924.3229
E-mail: kkomenich@casa.sjsu.edu

Creative Projects Co-Chairs
Michael Cheers
Associate Professor
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
San Jose state University
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0055
Phone: 408.924.3259
Fax: 408.924.3229
Email: mcheers@casa.sjsu.edu

Craig Herndon
Assistant Professor
School of Communications
Howard University
525 Bryant Street NW, Rm. C252
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: 202.806.7856
Fax: 202.806.9227
Email: cherndon@howard.edu

Logo Chair
Brian Cannon
Assistant Professor
Department of Communication
Hawaii Pacific University
1132 Bishop St. FC-101
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: 808.544.0836
Fax: 808.544-0835
Email: bcannon@hpu.edu

Membership Chair
Yung Soo Kim
Assistant Professor
School of Journalism and Telecommunications
University of Kentucky
222 Grehan Building
Lexington, KY 40506
Phone: 859.257.9466
Fax: 859.323.3168
Email: kim.s.eye@uky.edu

Graduate Student Liaisons
Carolyn Yaschur
School of Journalism
1 University Station A1000
University of Texas
Austin, TX 78712
Email: cyaschur@gmail.com

Matt Haught
College of Mass Communications & Information Studies
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC 29208
Phone: 803.777.9620
Email: haught@email.sc.edu

Victoria Bemker LaPoe
Manship School of Mass Communication and Public Affairs
Louisiana State University
1375 Aster St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225.578.7096
Email: vbemke1@lsu.edu

Liz Lance
School of Journalism
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: 573.777.0328
Email: elizabeth.a.lance@mail.missouri.edu

Visual Communication Quarterly Editor
Berkley Hudson
Associate Professor
School of Journalism
University of Missouri
321B Lee Hills Hall
Columbia, MO 65211-1370
Phone: 573.882.4201
Email: hudsonb@missouri.edu
VCQ Website

Newsletter Co-Editors
Bob Britten
Assistant Professor
School of Journalism
West Virginia University
1511 University Ave.
Morgantown, WV 26505-6010
Phone: 304.293.8710
Fax: 304.293.3072
Email: Bob.Britten@mail.wvu.edu

Myles Ludwig
Assistant Professor
College of International Communication
Lynn University
3601 N. Military Trail
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Phone: 561.237.7429
Fax: 561.237.7097
Email: mludwig@lynn.edu

Keith Greenwood
Assistant Professor
School of Journalism
University of Missouri
106 Lee Hills Hall
Columbia, MO 65211-1370
Phone: 573.882.4867
Fax: 573.884.4999
Email: greenwoodk@missouri.edu

Quint Randle
Assistant Professor
College of Fine Arts and Communications
Brigham Young University
322 Brimhall
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801.422.1694
Fax: 801.422.0160
Email: quint_randle@byu.edu